Thursday, March 19, 2015

Nanaimo Economic Development Corp. Appointments

Bill Bestwick File Photo

"I would like to thank all members of the community who responded to the call for nominations and put their names forward.  The Nominating Committee reviewed a wide range of applications from a number of talented and exceptional individuals.  We look forward to working with the new board member, Brad Jones." Bill Bestwick NEDC Nominating Committee Chair

At its regular meeting held March 16, Nanaimo City Council, on the recommendation of the Nanaimo Economic Development Corporation (NEDC) Nomination Committee, reappointed six members to the NEDC's Board - Doug Kalcsics, Dan Kucherka, Adrian Legin, Dr. Ralph Nilson, Charlie Parker and Andre Sullivan - and one new member, Brad Jones.  Each board member will serve a three-year term.

The balance of the board's remaining membership - A.J. Hustins (Chair), Dan Brady, Ron Hartman, Ian Howat, Chief John Wesley, William Anderson, Gloria Hatifeld, Signy Madden, Carla Smith and Kelly Bissell - was renewed by Council.

The candidates were chosen from a field of 23 candidates who were assessed on their core competencies including leadership, finance, marketing, community relations, business community connections, previous board experience and strategic planning. NEDC is required to appoint new members every year comprising of 1/3 of their total membership.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Your comment will appear after moderation before publishing,

Thank you for your comments.Any comment that could be considered slanderous or includes unacceptable language will be removed.

Thank you for participating and making your opinions known.